Be With Records soul mixtape


Be With Records, who recently released two crazy rare, monster holy grail records—Funk Factory and Air—are back with a slew of new soul releases. Released last week are Willie Hutch’s first two records, Soul Portrait (1969) and Season for Love (1970), and Edna Wright’s sole album, Oops! Here I Go Again, a modern-soul stunner from 1977. For North Americans, albums are shipping tomorrow from Light in the Attic.

To celebrate these releases, John Gómez (Music From Memory / Rush Hour) has put together a sublime mix of soul for us, anchored by tracks by Hutch and Wright.

Track list:
1. Willie Hutch – The Shortest Distance
2. Willie Hutch – Let’s Try It Over Again
3. Maxi Anderson – Lover to Lover
4. Townsend, Townsend, Townsend & Rogers – True Love (Is a Terrible Thing to Waste)
5. Sir Wales Wallace – What Ever You Want
6. Willie Hutch – Your Love Keeps Liftin’ Me Higher
7. Joann Garrett – It’s No Secret
8. Virgie Williams and Washington Jamb Band – Who’s Going To Take Care Of Me
9. Leroy Hutson – Getting it On (Theme for the “Jay Johnson Affair”)
10. Edna Wright – If the Price is Right
11. Sydney Barnes – Your Love is Good To Me
12. Stairsteps – Salaam
13. Edee – Make it Last
14. Jesse James – I Can Feel Your Love Vibes
15. Karin Jones – Here I Go Again
16. Perry & Sanlin – With You
17. Caesar Frazier – Another Life (Reprise)
18. Bobby Womack – How Could You Break My Heart
19. Betty Wright – Make Me Love the Rain
20. Zingara – You Sho’ Know How To Love Me
21. Hudson County – Welcome to my Dream

Willie Hutch


Willie Hutch


Edna Wright

Related Post

Read More:


Responses from Facebook


Leave a Response