Adrian Younge

WPR007 Adrian Younge Black Dynamite (Original Motion Picture Score):

Multi-instrumentalist Adrian Younge makes his debut on Wax Poetics Records with his original score to the Michael Jai White comedy Black Dynamite. Inspired by the great blaxploitation soundtracks of the 1970s, Younge commands the Rhodes electric piano, Hammond organ, Hohner Clavinet, harpsichord, synthesizer, vibraphone, guitar, bass, flute, sax, cello, and drums, crafting with a singular vision. Whether it’s the witty vocal of “Jimmy’s Apartment” or the lowdown bass line of “Rafelli Chase,” we are all about this deeply authentic album.

Track Listing

Side A

  1. Black Dynamite Theme
  2. Cleaning Up the Streets
  3. Man with the Heat (Superbad)
  4. Shine
  5. Jimmy’s Dead
  6. Shot Me in the Heart
  7. Black They Back

Side B

  1. Gloria (Zodiac Lovers)
  2. Anaconda Malt Liquor
  3. Jimmy’s Apartment
  4. Jimmy’s Dead (Interlude)
  5. Chicago Wind
  6. Rafelli Chase
  7. Jimmy’s Dead (Instrumental)
  8. Dynomite (Suckapunch Re-edit)