Adrian Younge Presents Venice Dawn

Adrian Younge Presents Venice Dawn

Something About April


Featuring guest artists Dennis Coffey (Motown’s Funk Brother fuzz guitarist), Shawn Lee (Ubiquity Records), singer/songwriter Rebecca Jordan, and Italian cinephiles Calibro 35, Something About April is an eclectic mix of heavy, psychedelic soul and soundtrack-ready instrumentals.

The first single, “It’s Me,” is available as an official Serato 12-inch and on iTunes. The album is available on LP, CD, and on iTunes. You can stream the full album below.


Track Listing

  1. Turn Down the Sound
  2. It’s Me
  3. Anna May
  4. Two Hearts Combine
  5. Thunderstrike
  6. Reverie
  7. First Step on the Moon
  8. Dusts of Gold (featuring Shawn Lee and Calibro 35)
  9. Midnight Blue
  10. Lovely Lady (featuring Dennis Coffey)
  11. Sound of a Man
  12. Sirens
  13. Mourning Melodies in Rhapsody
  14. Something About April


Adrian Younge is the next generation of soul music. A self-taught musician and recording engineer who has dedicated his life to the study of classic soul music, Younge finds himself at the center of a new soul renaissance with a vision for pushing the boundaries of the music itself.

The story begins in 1998 as the budding hip-hop producer found himself confined by the limitations of the MPC. He began teaching himself how to play various instruments so he could fully realize his vision. First it was keyboards, then drums, sax, guitar, and bass. Fascinated with the sounds of Italian soundtracks by the likes of Ennio Morricone, Younge begins work on the soundtrack to the fictional film Venice Dawn, recording the album intermittently over the course of the next year. What developed was a sound equal parts Morricone and Air. Self-released in 2000, the moody, synth-drenched album was entirely composed, arranged, played, and recorded by Younge.

Eight years later in 2008, Younge would find himself at the center of the Black Dynamite zeitgeist. Instrumental in the film’s development, Younge not only edited the film, but also composed the original score, which was hailed as a modern blaxploitation masterpiece for authentically capturing the cinematic soul of the 1970s, from Isaac Hayes to Curtis Mayfield. Adrian Younge solidified himself as a force to be reckoned with and soon went to work writing music for the forthcoming Black Dynamite cartoon series on Adult Swim.

For his current solo project, Younge envisioned a new sound that would revisit his earlier, more baroque instrumental work of Venice Dawn and mesh it with the deep, gritty soul of Black Dynamite, eventually deciding to bring everything full circle by releasing the material under the moniker Venice Dawn. This new LP, titled Something About April, is a heavy, dark mix of psychedelic soul and cinematic instrumentals with hip-hop aesthetics, touching on influences from Morricone to King Crimson, Portishead to the Flamingos, Wu-Tang to Otis Redding.

Younge is currently writing and recording material for his next project, a Delfonics album with William Hart, founding singer of the legendary soul group.


Responses from Facebook


leave a response, or link from your own site.

15 Responses

  1. GREAT song!!! I’m glad to hear this young cat making quality music!!!

    – THOMAS
  2. [...] FREE download of Adrian’s Venice Dawn teaser EP (all original compositions) HERE LD_AddCustomAttr("AdOpt", "1"); LD_AddCustomAttr("Origin", "other"); [...]

    Dawn’s Arrival «
  3. Truly awesome work. When will the LP be released?

    – Saad
  4. The CD will drop on Nov. 29, followed by a limited-edition vinyl release on Dec. 13.

    Wax Poetics
  5. I’m looking most forward to the instrumentals! Nov. 29th can’t get here soon enough.

    – spaceboy
  6. [...] Adrian Younge Presents Venice Dawn’s Something About April is now available on Wax Poetics Records.  [...]

    Adrian Younge: Modern Day Relic | New Culture Society
  7. The EP is amazing!!! Can’t wait for the ‘Something about April’ LP release date. Keep the good work, WP!!

  8. This album is amazing!

    – Øyvind Hjartnes
  9. [...] ce projet (Shaw Lee, Dennis Coffey) néo-soul, et pas étonnant qu’il ait trouvé refuge chez Wax Poetics, toujours aussi [...]

    2011: sous le signe du 31 - Oncle Lester
  10. [...] Wax Poetics (2011) Genre: Soul, R&B Sound Like: Bilal, Brian [...]

    Music Briefs: A Place to Bury Strangers, Princess Chelsea, Ani DiFranco, Adrian Younge | Fayetteville Flyer - News, Art & Life
  11. Hello old friend. Your music is brilliance and a pleasure to listen to. Much respect!

    – Erica lindgren
  12. [...] the Adrian Younge’s January 2012 release, Something about April here: In honor of the release, Wax Poetic also reissued Younge’s Venice Dawn album as a free download [...]

    One of the best shows San Jose missed out on – Adrian Younge presents Venice Dawn |
  13. I’m hooked on the Adrian Younge high for life, thanksabunch! Please o please o please, hop the ocean and rip Amsterdam (NL)! 1love

    – booogieman
  14. Thank you. This album made me tear up in spots. I cannot believe that anyone can still make music this beautiful and pure. I know people like Cee Lo try, but they somehow miss the mark. This album is nothing short of perfection, and I am awestruck knowing that you will somehow top it with your next work.

    – Brett Harris
  15. [...] a name among lovers of vintage sounds, a reputation the Los Angeles-based musician manifested with Something about April. More recently, he worked with The Delfonics and Ghostface Killah. In their latest episode of Crate [...]

    Adrian Younge’s Vinyl Collection |

Leave a Response