Lawn Chair Vibes mixtape by Monk-One


Monk-one 'Lawn Chair Vibes'

Sometime around 2004, Wax Poetics teamed up with PF Flyers to do a mixtape, just as spring was erasing a brutal winter in New York. Contributing editor Andrew Mason, aka DJ Monk-One, followed up his Cherry Pickin’ mixtape with Lawn Chair Vibes, mixing some R&B and disco classics with then-new tracks from the likes of Prefuse 73, Nicknack, and Antibalas.

Track list:

1. Main Ingredient “Intro”
2. Tosca “Rolf Royce”
3. Richy Pitch “The Lyricist (Instr.)”
4. Bob Belden Project “Kiss”
5. Pole “Slow Motion”
6. Grace Jones “JA Guy”
7. Presto “Pianoscape”
8. N’dea Davenport & Mos Def ““Bullshittin’”
9. Nicknack “Mustard Seed “
10. Prefuse 73 “Got No Time For Rearviews”
11. Sonic Generation “Unky Solution”
12. [Uncredited Track]
13. Collectables, The “Levy Jive”
14. Izit “Make Way For The Originals”
15. Styles Of Beyond “Live Enough (Remix Inst)”
16. Karen Pree “You Stepped Into My Life”
17. Jocelyn Brown “Somebody Else’s Guy”
18. Patrice Rushen “You Remind Me”
19. Dwele “Find A Way Inst”
20. Maxwell “Urban Suite Theme”
21. D’Angelo “Up & Down (Red Astaire Mix)”
22. A Forest Mighty Black “Tides”
23. Time Machine (2) “Wasting Time (Inst)”
24. Freddie Fresh* “It’s About the Groove (Remix)”
25. RSL “Beanflicker” “
26. Antibalas “Che Che Colé (Inst.)”
27. Gil Scott-Heron “It’s Your World”
28. Ludovic Navarre “Dub Experience”
29. Pepe Braddock* “Life”
30. Morgan Geist “Epoch”
31. Lavish Habits “Pocket Calculator”
32. Audiomontage “Flyin’ High”
33. Fatjack* “Everybody’s Stylin’ (Inst.)”
34. Lil’ Louis & The World “6am”


Responses from Facebook


One Response

  1. I think that’s Karen Pree on “You Stepped Into My Life”.

    – Uptown Ruler

Leave a Response